Update: Gallery completed

I think I had completed the gallery for all my Gunpla collection… hope I didn’t left out any of them ^^ Anyway, have to make a few statement here regarding my gallery work these few days:

First, I must say sorry for taking so long time to complete my gallery here.

Second, I must say sorry for some blur pictures.

Third, I must say sorry as the pictures are getting less and less in the gallery.

Lastly, I must say thank you for viewing and feel free to give any comment.

As stated in my third statement, some of the Gundam I just shoot a few pics from a single pose rather than multiple pose. There is a reason behind this. This is because when I take back the kits and try to play with them… as you might guess it, some of them actually break up. This is especially serious on kits with lots of gimmick which is hold by tiny pieces of plastic.

I do know that plastic will degrade as time goes by. They will become brittle and fragile. But if that’s really the case, then those gimmick were end up made for nothing as you can only play it when it is still new. Or do I really need to give all my Gunpla “warm up exercise” on their joints and gimmick everyday to keep them workable? Is really sad… and painful to my heart T.T some of the victims are Hi-v Gundam MG, Astray Blue Frame 1/100, Arios Gundam and a few more. Therefore I choose not to pose the rest of my Gunpla fancily as I afraid that same things might happen again.

I do check each and every of them… besides gimmick get stuck, some kits also end up their joints become much tighter and harder to pose. And not to mention those tiny parts that holds all the gimmick together are so vulnerable to stress and strain and can easily break, furthermore they are fragile due to “aging”. Start to wonder do I have to pose my Gundam at only one pose and keep it as it is forever to avoid any damage on it… I paid so much for the MG kits and still they are giving such problems… sigh…

All kits were fixed with cement, but gimmick no longer functional. Highly playable kit… this is what we always desired… and now had become a nightmare to me… maybe I should think all over again on my Gunpla hobby? Haha… it seems like I’, feeling a bit moody now. Anyway, enjoy the gallery and sorry for this looong post!

7 responses

  1. Wow, impressive gallery! How long does it take for plastic to degrade? Scary thought

    June 12, 2010 at 12:22 am

  2. few years maybe… it depends on the plastic. Well, last time I read an article about why BANDAI switching from ordinary plastic to ABS plastic… but I forgot what’s the difference. Something to do with the durability I guess. Just try not to do something brave next time when you want to pose your old model, or do it carefully ^^

    June 12, 2010 at 7:44 am

  3. Yeah I think ABS is the denser stuff for inner frames. I guess kits without polycap joints will last longer (pretty much all the Ver. Ka kits I think)

    June 13, 2010 at 1:52 am

  4. yup… but joints without polycap will wear out faster if you frequently posing your kit… sigh… it’s a way to see how to compromise everything…

    June 13, 2010 at 7:57 am

  5. I’m afraid too that in times most of my collections will not be as good as new.

    Still, because mostly my collections are bootlegs right now (6 bootlegs, 2 original), selling them is kinda ruining my moods… the price will be very badly damaged…

    For the originals, I try to preserve them not to wear out fast. Still thinking the best way.

    June 14, 2010 at 10:38 am

  6. Let me know if you found out any good way… haha ^^

    June 15, 2010 at 6:26 am

  7. I’m leaving my kits posing in a mostly neutral action poses when I’m not not taking pictures. The thought that one days these kits are gonna fall apart on it’s own are scary indeed ><

    July 18, 2010 at 11:24 pm

Leave a comment